South African Traditional Music Achievement Awards (SATMA)

The South African Traditional Music Achievement Awards (SATMA) constitute one of the leading blocks in celebrating and preserving the South African traditional musical culture. Initiated in 2005, the SATMA awards already proved successful in breaking down tribal boundaries and united the South African people, while celebrating one of their most powerful resources, its heritage and culture. From the inaugural ceremony in 2006 to 2011 the event was held in KwaZulua Natal (Durban) at the ICC. It’s only been recently that the event has changed to the Eastern Cape Region to more comprehensively represent all provinces of the country. The awards are given in several categories based on the different cultural backgrounds like TshiVenda, Xitsonga, Indian, IsiNdebele, Maskandi and music genres like Jazz, Reggae and others. Winners from the previous year have included Poka Moloi, Junior Mambazo, Kevin Akaloo, Mohlolo or Quincy K. Powerful sponsors of the anaual SATMA awards include SABC, National Heritage Council, DRUM, Province of the Eastern Cape and Goba Fours. The 8th annual SATMA awards will take place October 4th and 5th, 2013. Applications/Nominations for the next South African Traditional Music Achievement Awards 2013 can be submitted here.

More information can be found on the SATMA website or Facebook page.




This entry was posted in SA Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s